Infiniband 3-node Ring with CentOS 6.5

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

stephanellis

Nov 13, 2013
All,

I'm just getting into infiniband for use with gluster and I have to say, I'm impressed with the performance/price. I would like to know if someone (forum user dba maybe) can give me a high level overview of what it would take to build a 3 node ring. This topology is mentioned at this post:

http://forums.servethehome.com/great-deals/1750-mellanox-connectx-2-dual-port-qdr-adapter-lp-bracket-$125-shipped.html

I am sure that several peices need to be configured, opensm, bonding, etc... but I'm not totally sure.

Ultimately I'd like to have three nodes on the same IP subnet without a switch. Can anyone guide me in the right direction?

Thanks!

dba

Feb 20, 2012
San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
All,

I'm just getting into infiniband for use with gluster and I have to say, I'm impressed with the performance/price. I would like to know if someone (forum user dba maybe) can give me a high level overview of what it would take to build a 3 node ring. This topology is mentioned at this post:

http://forums.servethehome.com/great-deals/1750-mellanox-connectx-2-dual-port-qdr-adapter-lp-bracket-$125-shipped.html

I am sure that several peices need to be configured, opensm, bonding, etc... but I'm not totally sure.

Ultimately I'd like to have three nodes on the same IP subnet without a switch. Can anyone guide me in the right direction?

Thanks!
It's fairly easy. You need a dual-port card in each node plus three cables. Connect each node to two others to form your ring. Wiring done.