Guest VLAN on Brocade 6450

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

xm4rcell0x

Apr 2, 2019
hello everyone. I apologize for the question that might sound stupid, but I'm not a network expert.

I have a pfsense router (dedicated box), a brocade switch (thx to fohdeesha for supporting me :D), and a cisco access point.

What I would like to do is create a vlan for guests that cannot access to my LANnet. I've already set up:

1. vlan id 57 on pfsense with subnet 10.10.57.0/24 (I know, "you have an L3 switch and you use pfsense for vlan?" well, I prefer it because it's more comfortable for me)

2. Enabled DHCP server on pfsense for Guestnet

3. Enabled firewall rules

4. on the cisco access point I created a new SSID Guest with VLAN ID 57

5. On the switch I don't know where to start... I have everything on the ve 1 interface (like a L2 switch), on port 1/1/1 I connected the router while on the 1/1/7 port I connected the access point.
What I would like is that depending on which SSID you connect to, you are assigned to the Lan net or Guest net. How can this be done? I have already tried to configure 1/1/1 and 1/1/7 (via web gui) in dual mode (tagged and untagged) but with no results. Thanks, Marcello

VLAN config - Click to see more photos (screenshot)

Ah, one last thing, how do you change the brocade's DNS server? Console? it's still 192.168.1.1 (pfsense is 10.10.20.1)

Reactions: tommybackeast

ttabbal

Mar 10, 2016
I don't have that switch, but the basic idea is to set both ports to include VLAN 57 for tagged. Check for port security settings as well. Usually, adding the port to the vlan will allow the traffic, but some of them require you to enable the traffic.