Recommendation on home server?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Jacen Li

Jun 8, 2019
I have around 100-120$ I can spend on a server, I'm only 13, but have a debit card so I can buy stuff online/ebay. Beginning to do tensorflow/machine learning/hosting some minecraft/csgo servers. I have a unused microATX case and a 500W 80+ white PSU (prob not the best for a server, but I have a limited budget)
My current rig is a i5-8400+16GB DDR4+RX 570, pretty decent hardware.
Want to have a server that I can leave on 24/7 for something. Want to get something like a dell r320 but those are a bit too expensive for me. Any reccomendation for other parts or places I can get parts for cheap/free?
thanks for your help, and please let me know if I messed anything as this is my first time posting
(I also have good experiance building PCs

pricklypunter

Nov 10, 2015
Canada
Welcome young padawan :D

You didn't mention what you will be running on said server, or what you plan to use it for, but you might want to look at the smaller, older Dell's, like the R210ii, if you can get one reasonable, or if you are game for some twiddling with things and rolling your own, maybe start with one of the DFI/ T6/T730 alike boards, posted in the deals forum etc :)

Jacen Li

Jun 8, 2019
Welcome young padawan :D

You didn't mention what you will be running on said server, or what you plan to use it for, but you might want to look at the smaller, older Dell's, like the R210ii, if you can get one reasonable, or if you are game for some twiddling with things and rolling your own, maybe start with one of the DFI/ T6/T730 alike boards, posted in the deals forum etc :)