How do you use 1U rackmount case CSE-502L-200B to create Unraid storage array?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

jang430

Mar 16, 2017
I know that this post —> https://www.servethehome.com/supermicro-cse502l200b-mitx-matx-1u-atom-server-chassis-review/#comments is very old already. I have been using Unraid since 2013. I have always liked the idea of all in a box. I'm currently using Fractal Design Node 804. It fits in a m-atx motherboard, and gives me option to connect up to 10 3.5 drives, and 2 2.5 drives. That's a whopping 12 drives. But more recently, I'm loving the desktop form factor. Meaning, everything compact. Compact switch, compact firewall, compact Unraid server? I have the chassis above, and am building a firewall with it. I still have another such chassis, and I know I can use HBA controller with external connection to connect it to plenty of drives.

When I say desktop form factor, I'm saying something like this, posted by @Sunnu

I know with all 12 drives, it won't fit into such a shallow, and short wall mount chassis, but maybe a 12U will do. My question is, how to you put 12 drives into such 2u, shallow depth wall mount rack? What case options do we have? I wanted to recreate something like this, and put it on my bookshelf. It's so neat!

jang430

Mar 16, 2017
Umm, not very close :) since Unraid server in 1U form factor already, need about 2U short depth to fit 8 drives.

Blinky 42

Aug 6, 2015
PA, USA
I have never seen one either, if you wanted to get "creative" you could take a 3U 16-drive chassis with the backplane, hack off the back (or middle) of the chassis and connect the backplane to a 1U server above/below it.

jang430

Mar 16, 2017