What is the current OS of choice for Napp-it All-in-One?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

DolphinsDan

Sep 17, 2013
I'm looking to build one soon and wanted to see what people are using for a napp-it all-in-one system using ESXi 5.5 as the hyper-visor

33_viper_33

Aug 3, 2013
I'm running ESXI 5.1 all in one with success in a test bed and will be building a new server around February-March for the final edition. I'm using Openindiana with great success. installation is easy. Napp-it's guide works but I prefer the guide done on STH main website. Napp-it feels a bit clunky as compared to a professional level raid card's web management (using my Areca as a baseline) but works well once you feel your way around it. I'm still learning ZFS. I suggest paying attention to 40TB build, ZFS Raid-50 = 50% perf of Raid-0 thread. It’s a great for teaching how to optimize ZFS for speed. Once I free up an SSD, I think I'm going to attempt some of these suggestions and play with ZIL.

I'm running:
openindiana - for ZFS and ISCSI targets, (hosts 3 SSDs striped for very fast access utilized as ISCSI boot drives for media pc, desktop and VMs)
Windows 2012 essentials - ISCSI for mass storage, client backup, AD, web hosting, etc.
pfsense - router, dns server, antivirus, vpn, proxy, etc
Ubuntu - mostly experimentation
Windows 7 - downloads and experimentation
Windows 2008 R2 - mostly experimentation