sloooooow transfer speeds

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

costeen

Dec 31, 2018
First off...hello everyone this is my first post here. I am a super noob when it comes to RAID and SAS or anything server related. Here's a little background, I bought 2 6tb seagate drives on ebay for $85 each best offer and didn't notice they were SAS drives. I could have returned them but they shipped so fast and the seller didn't seem willing to deal with it so I told myself it's time to learn a new interface now. 4 raid HBA cards later I got some that recognise the discs in my computer and they show up fine but from one of my SATA HDDs to the seagate SAS HDDs it transfers at awful slow rates compared to transferring from SATA to SATA internally. her'es my setup if anyone can give me advice on how to get the full potential out of this setup and get higher speeds I'm all ears...
Ill insert images of my setup using anvil, I didnt show test results due to a large tranfer in progress but i also will show a screen shot of the rate between D: and M:
DRIVE C SATA

DRIVE D SATA

DRIVE M SAS

DRIVE N SAS

TRANSFER SPEED

costeen

Dec 31, 2018
What controller, is the firmware and driver up to date, what model number for HDD's (st6000NM0034) is its firmware up-to-date, Are you running it in self encrypting mode?

Seagate Enterprise Capacity 6TB 3.5 SAS HDD Review (V.4) | StorageReview.com - Storage Reviews

Seems perfectly capable of performance.
oh...that would help...lol the controller is a IBM m1015 not sure the firmware it was an Ebay special but it seemed to work without having to cross flash it. Is there a fool proof way to check the firmware version? The drive model is st6000NM0034 I thought and once again not sure on the firmware.
do you use compression ? that will cost some performance
Not normally its just files and stuff added to the drive.

costeen

Dec 31, 2018