Questions about BMCs and Baseboards

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

yongihammer

Dec 28, 2018
Hey folks,

Total beginner / noob here and have a few really basic questions:

1) is a baseboard the same as a motherboard? I read somewhere that servers now come with 4 baseboards per server (up from 2 back in 2014), and this might increase further as data traffic continues to grow - anyone seeing evidence of this? how many more baseboards can a server fit?

2) been reading about baseboard management controllers - is there any differentiation between top BMC vendor Aspeed and other BMC vendors? Pros and cons?

Thanks in advance!

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
is a baseboard the same as a motherboard?
I think it depends on the context, but usually yes.
I read somewhere that servers now come with 4 baseboards per server (up from 2 back in 2014), and this might increase further as data traffic continues to grow - anyone seeing evidence of this?
I'm not sure how one system should have 4 mainboards, but why not :D
You probably read about mullti node system like this one:

(SuperMicro 6026TT-BTRF)

Each node has it's own mainboard, cpu, ram etc.
is there any differentiation between top BMC vendor Aspeed and other BMC vendors?
Not really, bmc chips are small systems with their own os (linux kernel). Vendors like supermicro, dell can get the sdks from the bmc manufacturer and develop their own bmc firmware with the features they want/need.

Reactions: yongihammer

yongihammer

Dec 28, 2018
Thank you, your answers are super helpful!

Anyway, just a follow-up - the multinode system pic above - is that a standard nowadays or is that something that's more for specialty / niche applications? Just wondering when I read about "worldwide server shipments" from Gartner whether the standard server now looks more like the multinode or if it's still just a box and a motherboard.

i386