What are my options for SAS2 Expansion?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Sera

Nov 26, 2018
Glasgow, Scotland
What I've got:
-SuperMicro X9DRi-LN4F+
-SuperMicro CSE826 Chassis
-SuperMicro BPN-SAS-826A (with a BPN-SAS2-826EL1 on it's way)
-

I am new to home servers, so please bare with me.

The X9DRi model motherboard only has one onboard SAS connector, and it's SAS1, I would like to be able to use all 12 of the drive bays on my chassis with the newer SAS2 backplane that should be arriving soon (as I also have a few 4TB drives that are unsupported with SAS1).

What PCIe 3 HBA would I need to get to connect that backplane to my motherboard and reap that SAS2 goodness?

Am I misguided in looking towards this in the first place?

If you need further information to help me please let me know!

TYIA

Evan

Jan 6, 2016
First question is do you want hardware raid (useful if running VMware ESX) or prefer software raid and plan to run ZFS or mdadm for raid ? (Also options like snapraid/unraid or windows storage spaces or even NTFS volume groups)

That will determine the best HBA option.

Evan

Jan 6, 2016
Ok so then you want a straight HBA. Something like a SAS 3008 would be what I would look for...
IBM M1215’s were cheap a while back but maybe somebody else with recent knowledge on the best deals can jump in here.

Reactions: Sera

Sera

Nov 26, 2018
Glasgow, Scotland
Thanks, that's got me looking down the right path at least, any deal suggestions would be great on top of the list I can work through on the pinned thread!

nthu9280

Feb 3, 2016
San Antonio, TX
If you plan on using mostly 3.5 HDDs, SAS2 HBAs such as Dell H310 (LSI 2008 based) or HP H220 (LSI 2308 based) are sufficient.