CCNA

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Myth

Feb 27, 2018
Los Angeles
Hey Guys,

I'm just thinking about going for my CCNA certification. Do you guys have any advice for me before I start to study? I've only setup a single switch before, but I've watched a network guy setup a VLAN, MTU size, port enabling, IP settings, console set up, ssh remote in, etc.

I've also recently applied for a network administration job which is way over my head, but I feel confident I can figure it out. I need to setup firewalls, which I've never done before. Humm... any advice, other than don't do it would be much appreciated.

-Myth

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
"learning by doing" :D
Get an used enterprise switch, connect a few hosts and try to setup the switch for the diferent things and see if the hosts can ping/reach each other.

BlueLineSwinger

Mar 11, 2013
If a classroom settings works well for you, a lot of community colleges offer classes for CCNA routing/switching, as well as other related certs such as CCNA security and the CCNP series. Many also have hands-on, or at least online, hardware labs.

WANg

Jun 10, 2018
New York, NY
Hey Guys,

I'm just thinking about going for my CCNA certification. Do you guys have any advice for me before I start to study? I've only setup a single switch before, but I've watched a network guy setup a VLAN, MTU size, port enabling, IP settings, console set up, ssh remote in, etc.

I've also recently applied for a network administration job which is way over my head, but I feel confident I can figure it out. I need to setup firewalls, which I've never done before. Humm... any advice, other than don't do it would be much appreciated.

-Myth