Formatting disks for ZFS on Linux

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

karpodiem

Jan 1, 2014
This past weekend I installed Ubuntu 18.04 and ZFS on Linux. Admittedly, I am a complete Linux noob and my knowledge pertains to Googling and copy and pasting commands into the terminal. Everybody has to start somewhere!

I've got some old disks I'd like to create a storage pool with just so I can get more comfortable with administering ZoL.

Here's what it looks like -

Dropbox - 2018-05-08 07_33_40-Window.png

sda and sdb are 500GB disks that were from an old mirrored zpool when I tried this a few months ago. sdc and sdd are disks that I added.

My first question -

1) How do I erase a current mirrored zpool and make the disks available for a new zpool?
2) Do I need to format a disk prior to using with ZoL?
3) What commands would I use to I delete all partitions on a disk and then initialize to GPT?
4) Doing some Googling, it seems that a 4 disk mirror can be created with the command -

zpool create zfspool mirror disk1 disk2 mirror disk3 disk4

Is this correct?

vl1969

Feb 5, 2014
Well the command looks good. This is the way I created mine.[emoji13][emoji3][emoji12]

You do not need to format the disks. Just use gdisk or parted to create new partition table. This should wipe everything and make disk clean and ready for reuse. It is possible to just wipe the disk with dd com and using null dev as input but takes too long. Imho.

Sent from my LG-TP450 using Tapatalk

Reactions: karpodiem

karpodiem

Jan 1, 2014
Well the command looks good. This is the way I created mine.[emoji13][emoji3][emoji12]

You do not need to format the disks. Just use gdisk or parted to create new partition table. This should wipe everything and make disk clean and ready for reuse. It is possible to just wipe the disk with dd com and using null dev as input but takes too long. Imho.