Modding/Tweaking a RX Vega 64 FE in Linux

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Klee

Jun 2, 2016
There is very little online about doing this in Linux so here we go.

I'm no programmer just an pretty advanced user so bear that in mind if you want to follow along.

I purchased a AMD Rx Vega 64 FE on the spur of the moment and really did not think this through before I clicked "purchase" but the non FE Rx Vegas are super hard to get.

I have found that the newest version of amrig-amd is a little faster than the latest version of amr-stak-amd for me so far.

Install and run lm-sensors if you have not already, for me it shows the gpu temp and fan speed and you really need that information before you start on this.

The first thing I needed was a way to control the fan under Linux , I'm using Ubuntu 16.04.03 64 bit, so I searched and found a script that works even tho it came out months before the Rx Vegas were released and the dev has stated he is working on a newer and better version but it has not been released yet.

GitHub - DominiLux/amdgpu-pro-fans: An alpha version written in bash script for the development of overall concepts for a c++ project I will be releasing soon as open source.
It works on my Rx Vega, the command is simple:

sudo ./amdgpu-pro-fans.sh -s 75

The -s sets the speed, in the above it set the speed to %75.

And this helps a bunch even if you do nothing else because mining will cause the temp to jump to over 80c REAL quick since the stock fan profile does not keep up.

Now on this card the noise can get kind of irritating at the higher speeds so I am starting off looking for ways to run the card cooler and quieter than stock and will seek to increase the hash speed later.

So next is how do I adjust the clockspeed and voltage, this I found a script here:

USE THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!