Helium leakage in helium-filled HDDs?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

niekbergboer

Jun 21, 2016
Switzerland
Most high-capacity HDDs are Helium-filled nowadays. Now, I studied engineering physics, and although I did not specialize in anything vacuum/helium related, the one thing that stayed with me is that helium is darn near impossible to keep inside almost anything (mostly since it's a single-atom gas with a very low molar weight).

Harddrive manufacturers of course claim "Nth generation Helioseal!!1one!", but I'm a bit skeptical here: I know that if I pick up a 5- or 10-year-old HDD from the shelf, it'll likely work. How will that be with helium drives? Have they been around long enough for any of you to have gained experience with "depleted" drives?

There is a good chance that I'm being a Luddite here, but I'm curious nonetheless.

wildpig1234

Aug 22, 2016
Opening the helium hard drive - Video

there is apparently a laser wielded lid airtight over the normal cover if I am correct from that video.

This whole thing would be very challenging for data recovery as now after you open it to swap out a bad head or repair, you will have to put everything into another airtight helium filled container to run the drive for data recovery. or you might have to recover the data by removing each platter and run each one individually?

Reactions: realtomatoes

Tom5051

Jan 18, 2017
It does not matter if the lid is laser welded. What the OP is saying is that Helium atoms are so small they can pass through solid metal over time.
Have you ever bought a balloon filled with helium only to find it is flat after a couple of days and no longer floats? This is the same principle, the Helium atoms are passing between the structure of the latex molecules.