A small 10gbe home network. Need a advice.

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

shteud

Aug 20, 2017
Ukraine
Hello everybody
I plan to upgrade my home network to 10 gbps (and I'm a bit noob on this issue)
And that's why I plan to buy several network cards with FPS + from eBay based on which I want to create a PC router.
What adapters can you recommend?
For no problem working in windows 10 / server 2012 and redhat\freebsd linux?
Now I choose from Mellanox (connect x2) and c320.
Can I use network cards from different manufacturers on the same network?
What transceiver modules should I use with this connection(with two different manufacturers)?
Should I buy cards branded HP, IBM and so on? Can I then use the drivers from the manufacturer?
And what's the difference between the Chelsio S320E-CP and Chelsio S320E-LP-CR other than the card size?
Many thanks to all who responded to help!
ps. sorry for bad English. I'm not native speaker and it's very late :)

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
Yes you can use different nics in the same network.

Use transceivers that work :D
Jokes aside I'm using cisco transceivers with my mellanox nics, I don't know how picky the chelsio cards are.

I would get "vanilla"/stock nics as oem branded card can behave differently. (Oem branded mellanox nics can be crossflashed to stock mellanox firmware!)

How important is latency to you?
I think a pc as a router for severall 10gbe ports will require a lot of cpu power and increase the latency.

Reactions: shteud

shteud

Aug 20, 2017
Ukraine
Use transceivers that work :D
Jokes aside I'm using cisco transceivers with my mellanox nics, I don't know how picky the chelsio cards are.
Thanks for help!
As i understand it's only one way, just try do it work on not :)