File Server and Hyper-V

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

bildform.

Mar 25, 2015
Hello,

I am new to server stuff, but I think I understand a few of the concepts. I just cannot get my head around the fileserver and filesharing. The server is mostly for 3d assets for rendering, and the network contains two render nodes and a workstation all on the same switch.

I bought myself a Dell T20 and put two 500gb ssd and and 2 4TB HDD and another two 4TB Hdd as backup space into it + a quad nic. I installed server 2016, formatted the ssds and hdds with refs. The 2 ssd and 2 hdd are mirrored and use storage tiers. (the other two 4tb hdds are just mirrored.

I want to use the server as file server. Is it useful to put the file server into a virtual machine? What do I have watch out for when doing that?

Is it correct to create a virtual machine and and two virtual discs (one for work stuff and one for some private stuff) or would I just create a 4tb virtual disc and create shares on that virtual disc?
I would backup the virtual machine and the virtual discs to the other 4tb hhds.

Some additional questions:
Should I install a domain controller/active directory/dhcp? Can I install those with the file server?
Is it a problem to install a license server (v-ray) that uses a usb dongle on the hyper-v host?
Would it be a problem to install plex and a few other license server on the hyper-v server, too? Or should I create another virtual machine for those?
I only have dell t20 with the xeon and 20GB ram. Is it even a good idea to have a second virtual machine?

Thank you for your help,
Jan

vl1969

Feb 5, 2014
it is not advisable to run any roles except Hyper-V on the HOST.
your hardware is the Host so you should only run Hyper-V on it if you plan to do that.
in older versions you could not run(well you could but was not advisable) any other roles on the Host.