Help me understand IP addressing please

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Xicaque

Mar 28, 2017
Olympia
Disclaimer: I am not an IT professional but I like messing/learning/building and making my wife mad as I spend $$$ on our home network. She thinks that having a huge rack server with tons of stuff is only for bussines environment. Well, not for me. So I will keep spending :)

Currently, my network has assigned IP addressing via DHCP. I have a couple of FreeNAS boxes that after a certain number of days, I think like 15 days. Not sure. Have their IP changed and then I can't connect unless I go check the box on what new IP there are on.

Well, I have gotten tired of it and I am now thinking of setting static IP addresses. My network is rather small.

I have the cable modem, followed by a wireless router then a 24 port switch. To that switch, I have 6 computers connected via cat 6 cable, 2 printers, and the two FreeNAS boxes.

Wirelessly, I have 4 iPhones, 4 iPads, a printer, 4 Apple TVs and a Linksys Velop wifi range expander.

I've been reading several articles and such. What confuses me is the following:

The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) has reserved the
following three blocks of the IP address space for private internets:

10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix)
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix)
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix)

I am using the 192.168.x.x addressing. See that forward slash followed by 16? What exactly does that mean? Do I type 192.168.5.50/1, xxx.xxx.5.51/2 and so on when I assign static addresses?

I plan to eventually have a dedicated LAN for guests, printers, vid surveillance, one LAN for remote accessing when I am on the road, and one reserved for future use.

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Rob

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany