Free streaming software

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

macrules34

Mar 18, 2016
I'm looking for a free program that would allow me to convert DVDs & VHS videos and then stream on my tv. I would like to be able to run this software on a VM on a home ESXi server. I am new to these technology's.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
For streaming:

PLEX Server
PLEX on phone, tv, roku, etc...

You'll need other software to convert your DVDs and VHS most notably to actually 'access' them and then I'd look into HEVC / H.265 Explained

manxam

Jul 25, 2015
I'm not certain that I'd recommend H265 just yet as many media players don't support this format natively and, therefore, Plex will likely have to transcode each stream. While it's definitely the future, I'd wait a couple of years and use x264 in mkv or mp4 containers for now. The file sizes will be bigger (4-5gb for decent 1080p with 6 channel audio ~2 hour long movie) but they'll be playable on far more devices.

vl1969

Feb 5, 2014
you may need couple of programs rather than one.
for streaming Plex is good
for ripping/converting there are several exists.
if you can use Linux , Handbrake , k2b, work wonders, although you loose the DVD/CD menu
you can also rip to ISO but it might not work for streaming.
I like Handbrake as it does a very good ripping format.

acquacow

Feb 15, 2017
I use handbrake on my desktop to rip/convert DVDs and a VM running Plex to serve everything up to my TiVo that runs a Plex app.

Reactions: K D

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
I am running Universal Media Server on my server.

For encoding I'm using megui + avisynth on windows.

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
I am running Universal Media Server on my server.

For encoding I'm using megui + avisynth on windows.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015