FreeNAS server...will this hardware suffice? Multiple zpools?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016
So I'm considering a FreeNAS build for shared storage to present to VMware hosts. I'd be re-purposing the VSAN drives I'm currently using in my hosts which are as follows:

4 x Hitachi 400GB HUSSL SAS SSD's
4 x Intel S3500 800GB SATA SSD's.

For MoBo/RAM I've got a SuperMicro X10SDV-2C-7TP4F and 16GB of DDR4 2133 Registered RAM.

I have zero experience with FreeNAS/ZFS so I'm before I even get into the nitty gritty research on this I'm just looking for some expert opinions on whether or not my drives will work well as a shared storage array to present to VMware. I'm assuming my Mobo/CPU/RAM combo will suffice. I'd really prefer not to spend any more money on additional drives at this time.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
If you're only using that # drives why not do an 'all in one' instead of a separate system?

I'm also not too sure how performance-minded an all SSD setup would be with only 2C too. That mobo/setup is awesome though :)

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016
If you're only using that # drives why not do an 'all in one' instead of a separate system?

I'm also not too sure how performance-minded an all SSD setup would be with only 2C too. That mobo/setup is awesome though :)
Define what you mean by an AIO system in this regard?

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016

whitey

Jun 30, 2014
So I'm considering a FreeNAS build for shared storage to present to VMware hosts. I'd be re-purposing the VSAN drives I'm currently using in my hosts which are as follows:

4 x Hitachi 400GB HUSSL SAS SSD's
4 x Intel S3500 800GB SATA SSD's.

For MoBo/RAM I've got a SuperMicro X10SDV-2C-7TP4F and 16GB of DDR4 2133 Registered RAM.