FS: Supermicro BPN-SAS2-846EL1 Backplane

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Emulsifide

Dec 1, 2014
For sale is my VMware VSAN home lab that I've been building for a few years. I'm only selling before I have a similar development lab at work now The node is built of the following parts:
  • 1 x Intel Xeon E5-2418L (2.1GHz, 4C/8T, 50W TDP)
  • Intel DBS1400FP2 Motherboard
  • Intel RMS25KB080 SG35828 RAID Module (LSI SAS2308 SAS Controller)
  • 6 x 4GB PC3-10600 DDR3 1333MHz 240-Pin DIMM ECC Registered Memory Module - HP 500658-B21
  • Dynatron G785 Heatsink/Fan
  • Brocade 1020 10Gbit CNA NIC
  • 1 x Genuine Brocade 57-0000075-01 SFP+ Transceiver
  • 1 x SanDisk Cruzer Fit 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (For booting ESXi)
  • Supermicro SuperChassis 213A
  • 1 x Supermicro PWS-1K21P-1R 1000 Watt 80PLUS Gold Power Supply

This setup absolutely RIPS with VSAN configured. Idle wattage is 118 watts per node (which is pretty awesome for the amount of hardware in each machine) and they are all very quiet, which makes them great for a home lab. I was running vSphere 6.5 on this setup before I decommissioned it. You can run three of these in a VSAN configuration without a switch by creating a mesh topology where each node has a network connection to one another. This would require an additional SFP+ transceiver per node and your network traffic would be limited to using the 1Gb NICS built into the motherboard.

This particular node for sale has a missing rivet in one of the rackmount ear locations (see the pictures below). This does NOT affect using the computer what-so-ever. You just have to be a little careful when you rack it. I'm guessing a very shallow pop rivet from the hardware store would solve the problem if you really want to take your time fixing it.

Pictures

I'm looking to get $180.00 plus shipping.
SOLD!