Maximum # harddisk a motherboard can handle with 2 SAS expanders

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

denywinarto

Aug 11, 2016
I'm new to this JBOD thing so bear with me..
Planning to build gigantic Media server running Ubuntu.
I just bought 1 HP SAS expander and an IBM M1015 SAS Card which has 2 SFF8087 ports, meaning it can hold up to 2 SAS expanders...
I've measured the mobo and it looks like 2 SAS expander could fit in it.. and because of certain scripts i want to run, i'm limiting my library to 1 computer.

Here's the specs :

Motherboad : Asrock Z87
Memory : 16GB 1600MhZ DDR3 G-skill
Processor : Intel® Core™ i3-4130 Processor (3M Cache, 3.40 GHz)
PSU: Plan to use 2-3 PSUs connected with Add2Psu..

So technically that's 64 HDD from SAS expander + 10 from motherboard internal SATA ports.

Questions:

1. Is there any known limitation from motherboard or other factors that i'm not aware of? Is there anything that could prevent 74 HDD from working properly with this setup? (It will be filled with 8TB and 6TB of HDDs btw)..
2. Is it Ok to run SATA from SAS expander and from internal SATA port together?
3. Is non-ECC memory viable enough?

I don't mind a little performace drop as long as i can stream 1080p content
I'm asking this because i want to build acrylic custom casing, and of course i need to know the max capacity to detemine the size of the casing

thanks

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
Thanks for pointing this out! :)
I guess I'll stick to 42 drives then (+10 mobo slots).. too bad cause it has 2 slots
I forgot to ask what os you want to use.
If you want to go the zfs route you could flash the controller with lsi it/ir firmware, it should then work as an hba and support more drives.

denywinarto

Aug 11, 2016
I forgot to ask what os you want to use.