OpenStack Buildout Advice needed

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

MACscr

May 4, 2011
Just wanted to see if I could get any feedback on my initial cloud buildout and if you thought I should do it differently and any other suggestions, etc . I already have most of the hardware, though I am willing to adjust it a bit to get a better base setup for my initial cloud. I am completely new to openstack (I come from a xensource based cluster that I am going to be retiring and selling), so hoping to get some ideas from someone that is much more knowledgable with the openstack platform or just with such buildouts in general. I will be using KVM instead of Xen and most VM's are used for general web hosting (web servers, email servers, databases, etc). The "Cloud" is used for private and public purposes. Mostly public though. My target audience is SMB's (1 to 50 employees). I know I am trying to do all of this on the cheap and not the newest hardware, but I am also not trying to cram a lot of VM's on each compute node either. Probably only a dozen at most per node.

So here is what I have for the newer openstack setup:

Networking:
(1) 1U 48 x 1GbE Layer 2 Switch with 4 x 10GbE additional ports

Servers:
(1) 1U Intel Celeron 1.8ghz Server - Used for vpn/pfsense for external access to management LAN
(2) 2U Quad Node 2U Dell C6100. Each has 4 x Dual Xeon 5520's with 24GB Ram, 4 x 1Gb nics, 1 x IPMI nic, 3 x SATA hotswap (PXE boot?)
(2) 1U Dual Xeon 5520's with 72GB Ram, 4 x 1Gb nics, 1 x IPMI (BMC)
(1) 2U Storage Server, 1 x Xeon 5520 CPU, 48GB Ram, 12 Hotswap bays, SAS Backplane, 4 x 1Gb nics (ipmi shared with 1 nic), 2 x 10GbE, 1 x 4 port SAS HBA, 1 x 8 Port SAS HBA, 1 x 8 Port SAS External
(1) 3U SAS JBOD connected to Storage Server, 16 bay SAS hotswap
(1) 2U Backup Server, Intel Core2Quad Q6400, 4gb Ram, 3ware 9650se 8 Port Raid Controller, 8 x SATA Hotswap